Technical Committee for Gearing and Transmissions


Function Name Affiliation
Chair Prof. Frank Schäfer
Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW)
Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW)
Department Mechanical Engineering and Production
Engineering Design and Plastics Technology
Berliner Tor 21
20099 Hamburg
Deputy chair Prof. Yaping Zhao
Northeastern University China
Northeastern University China
Department Mechanical Engineering and Automation
No.11 Lane 3, Wenhua Road, Heping District
Shenyang, 110819


Name Affiliation
Belarus Prof. Dr. Techn. Sc. Victor E. Starzhinsky National Academy of Sciences of Belarus
Belarus Prof. Dr.-Ing. Vladimir B. Algin The Joined Institute of Mechanical Engineering
Bulgaria Prof. Ognyan Alipiev Technical University of Ruse
Bullgaria Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kiril B. Arnaudov Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Canada Prof. Clement Gosselin Université Laval
Canada Prof. John R. Colbourne University of Alberta
China-Beijing Prof. Dr. Yaping Zhao Northeastern University
China-Beijing Prof. Xiaoling Wu Zhengzhou University
China-Beijing Prof. Dr. Datong Qin Chongqing University
China-Taipei Prof. Zhang-Hua Fong National Chung Cheng University
China-Taipei Prof. Yu-Ren Wu National Central University
Czech Republic Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Dupal West Czech Technical University
Czech Republic Prof. Josef Penkava Uiversity of West Bohemia
France Dr. Louis Faure Compagnie Engrenage & Reducteurs Messian – Durand
France Dr. Michael Octrue Institut de l’engrenage et des transmissions
Germany Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd-Robert Höhn TU München
Germany Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Dr. h. c. Karl-Heinz Modler Technische Universität Dresden
Hungary Prof. DSc. Vilmos Simon Budapest University of Technology and Economics
India Prof. K. Lingaiah University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering, Bangalore
India P. M. Nityanandan Gears India (Madras) Pvt. Ltd
Italy Prof. Carlo Gorla Politecnico di Milano
Italy Prof. Dr. Eng. Domenico Mundo University of Calabria
Italy Prof. Giovanni Mimmi Universitа degli studi di Pavia
Japan Naoyuki Tanaka Hitachi, Ltd
Japan Prof. Dr. Eng. Ichiro Moriwaki Kyoto Institute of Technology
Japan Prof. Haruo Houjoh Tokyo Institute of Technology
Kazakhstan Prof. Konstantin Ivanov Almaty University of Power Engineering & Telecommunications
Lebanon Prof. Rany Rizk Lebanese University
Non-MO Prof. Jaques Sprengers Prof. Emeritus, US
Poland Prof. Jaroslaw Szrek Wroclaw University of Science and Technology
Poland Prof. Antoni Gronowicz Wroclaw University of Science and Technology
Poland Prof. PhD. DSc. Stanislaw Zawislak University of Bielsko-Biała
Russia Prof. Sergey Lagutin Electrostal Plant of Heavy Machines
Russia Prof. Dr. Sc. Veniamin Goldfarb Izhevsk State Technical University
Serbia and Montenegro Prof. Dr.-Ing. Vojislav Miltenovic University "St. Cyril and Methodius Skopje
Slovakia Prof. S. Kral STU
Slovenia Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jozef Vizintin University of Ljubljana
Spain Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alfonso Fuentes Polytechnic University of Cartagena
Spain Prof. Jose Ignacio Pedrero Moya Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia
Spain Prof. Dr. Carlos Garcia-Masia Campus Universitario Muralla del Mar
USA Prof. Ahmet Kahraman Ohio State University
USA William Bradley American Gear Manufacturers Association
USA Dr. Neil Anderson General Motors Corporation

Latest News

A History of Kinematics from Zeno to Einstein by Teun Koetsier

Read full article

The first Springer MMS series book from MO Türkiye by Prof. Eres Söylemez

Read full article

The video of the first-ever IFToMM Webinar by Prof. Teun Koetsier is available for the viewers!

Read full article

First Free Access to Springer Conference Proceedings – 11th IFToMM International Conference on Rotordynamics

Read full article

University of Craiova awarded an honoris causa doctoral degree to Prof. Giuseppe Carbone

Read full article

Lagrange Award – Multibody System Dynamics Outstanding PhD Thesis Prize 2023 now open for applications!

Read full article

Technical University of Cluj-Napoca (UTCN) awarded the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to Prof. Giuseppe CARBONE (Chair of IFToMM TC on Robotics and Mec...

Read full article

The first IFToMM book on engines and powertrains is authored by the members of three Technical Committees

Read full article

Tsinghua University and Tsingke+ Institute Developed a Swab Sampling Robot for 20-in-1 PCR Screening

Read full article
All news
Upcoming Events



This Symposium will cover the topical themes of tribology including: friction, wear, lubrication, lubricants,…

MSR-RoManSy 2024


The 2024 USCToMM Symposium on Mechanical Systems and Robotics (2024 USCToMM MSR Symposium) and…

KOD 2024


The objective of KOD 2021 is to review the current state of knowledge and…

RAAD 2024


The conference will bring together academic and industrial robotics researchers from the member countries…

IMSD 2024


Multibody dynamics, based on computational dynamics, provides important methodologies and tools for vehicle dynamics,…
Deadlines to keep in mind

RAAD 2024


Deadline for early-bird registration

RAAD 2024


Deadline for regular registration

MAMM 2024


Deadline for full paper submission

MMT Symposium


Deadline for abstract submission

TMM 2024


Decision on full paper submission