Permanent Commission for the Standardization of Terminology

Mission & Organization

The Permanent Commission for the Standardization of Terminology envisions to provide the community with standard definitions and terms for mechanism and machine science, whether in classical mechanism theory, kinematics and dynamics, machine elements and control, or in associated applications. To this end it establishes corresponding media of publication and cooperates with other international and national bodies concerned with terminology and related matters. The joining of young researchers to this committee is highly welcome.

Applications for membership in the Permanent Commission for the Standardization of Terminology can be submitted to


Function Name Affiliation
Chair Prof. Torsten Brix Technische Universität Ilmenau
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Werner-Bischoff-Bau, Zi. 4220
Ehrenbergstraße 29
98693 Ilmenau
Deputy chair Prof. Ovidiu Antonescu University Politehnica of Bucharest
Mechanism and Robot Dept.
Independenţei nr. 313
RO-060042 Bucharest


Name Affiliation
Armenia Prof. Dr. Yuri L. Sarkissyan State Eng. Univ. of Armenia
Belarus Ass. Prof., Ph.D. Sergej V. Shil’ko National Academy of Sciences of Belarus
Belarus Prof., Dr. Techn. Sc. Victor E. Starzhinsky National Academy of Sciences of Belarus
Belarus Prof., Dr. Eng. Mark M. Kane Belarusian National University of Technology
China-Beijing Jun Zhang
China-Beijing Prof. Dr. Yue-Qing Yu Beijing University of Technology
China-Beijing Prof Dr-Ing. Zhaohui Lan Fuzhou University
China-Taipei Prof Dr-Ing. Shyi-Jeng Tsai National Central University
Finland Prof. Emeritus Tatu Leinonen
France Prof. Didier Remond Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon (INSA)
France Jean-Christoph Fauroux SIGMA Clermont
Germany Dr. Ulf Döring Technische Universität Ilmenau
Germany Prof Dr-Ing. Burkhard Corves RWTH Aachen University Aachen
Hungary Prof. Dr. Istvan Biro University of Szeged
Italy Prof. Raffaele Di Gregorio University of Ferrara
Lithuania Prof. Dr. Rymantas Tadas Tolocka Kaunas University of Technology
Netherlands Dr. Ir. Antonius Klein Breteler Delft University of Technology
Poland Prof. Antoni Gronowicz Wroclaw University of Technology
Poland Prof. Józef Wojnarowski Silesian University of Technology
Romania Prof. Dr. Ing. Păun Antonescu University POLITEHNICA of Bucharest
Romania Dr.Ing. Theodor Ionescu
Russia Prof. Eugeni Shalobaev St Petersburg State University
Serbia and Montenegro Prof Dr-Ing. Nenad T. Pavlović University of Niš
Slovakia Asst. Prof., Dr. Štefan Segla Technical University of Liberec
USA Prof. Gordon Pennock School of Mechanical Engineering

Latest News

A History of Kinematics from Zeno to Einstein by Teun Koetsier

Read full article

The first Springer MMS series book from MO Türkiye by Prof. Eres Söylemez

Read full article

The video of the first-ever IFToMM Webinar by Prof. Teun Koetsier is available for the viewers!

Read full article

First Free Access to Springer Conference Proceedings – 11th IFToMM International Conference on Rotordynamics

Read full article

University of Craiova awarded an honoris causa doctoral degree to Prof. Giuseppe Carbone

Read full article

Lagrange Award – Multibody System Dynamics Outstanding PhD Thesis Prize 2023 now open for applications!

Read full article

Technical University of Cluj-Napoca (UTCN) awarded the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to Prof. Giuseppe CARBONE (Chair of IFToMM TC on Robotics and Mec...

Read full article

The first IFToMM book on engines and powertrains is authored by the members of three Technical Committees

Read full article

Tsinghua University and Tsingke+ Institute Developed a Swab Sampling Robot for 20-in-1 PCR Screening

Read full article
All news
Upcoming Events

MSR-RoManSy 2024


The 2024 USCToMM Symposium on Mechanical Systems and Robotics (2024 USCToMM MSR Symposium) and…

KOD 2024


The objective of KOD 2021 is to review the current state of knowledge and…

RAAD 2024


The conference will bring together academic and industrial robotics researchers from the member countries…

IMSD 2024


Multibody dynamics, based on computational dynamics, provides important methodologies and tools for vehicle dynamics,…



The aim of this international symposium is to provide an excellent opportunity for researchers…
Deadlines to keep in mind

MSR-RoManSy 2024


Deadline for regular registration



Deadline for early-bird registration

TMM 2024


Deadline for early-bird registration

10th Summer School on Screw Theory


Deadline for early-bird registration



Deadline for regular registration